Christmas Cooking…

 

.

First I scrub the small round red potatoes

let them sit in a colander

Christmas card messages

dancing in my head

melt butter

slice in onions, cook until glassy

slightly browned

why

does he say he misses

my smiling face

when he is the one who

forfeited my smiles?

Slice and layer the potatoes

seasoned white sauce

grated aged cheeses

snip fresh herbs atop

ignore the texts

for the time being

from another who is intriguing

but too persistent

too everywhere

and inconsistent

when I need

reliable and

my own time sometimes

to make potatoes au gratin

on the way to Christmas

as busy-ness intersperses with loneliness

as children come and go

we dash

to gatherings, parties, dinners

then I regroup to contemplate

my myriad fates

while singing to myself

Auld Lang Syne

the potatoes smell divine

I take them out early

anyway

to finish baking

Christmas day.

.

Hello dear friend.

I hope good things

come your way.

.

~ Lily

.

8 Comments on “Christmas Cooking…”

  1. janinevasta says:

    Stay busy and keep looking for the good my dear. Have a warm, joyful Christmas Lily. You have so much to look forward to and your cooking sounds sublime! All my love,
    Janine xx

  2. Jaz says:

    I Love this Lily πŸ™‚

  3. free penny press says:

    It’s the little things we do to fill the day with new memories..
    Have a wonderful Christmas and may the new year bring lots of shiny, sparkly joy !!
    Merry Christmas Lily!!!!

  4. Hi Lily, Merry Christmas πŸ™‚ Although this may not be the way you imagined or hoped, I still Hope that you are able to relax and do something good for yourself! Thinking of you and sending blessings around you, Erin

  5. Merry Christmas, sweet Lily, Wishing you lots of blessings this Christmas and in the new year.
    Joy

  6. Beauty in the words, Lily, but I also detect sadness…so I recommend taking one ounce of JOY, every day upon waking, for the chance to be alive!

    Mery, merry Christmas…and many blessings for the New Year!

  7. irfriske says:

    Your cooking sounds heavenly as you prepared your thoughts to become the delightful things I know you are moving toward!
    “.”
    Cat

  8. Happy New Year Lily! It’s a new day!


Leave a Reply

