Love and purpose…

.

.

I was talking with a friend at Thanksgiving. She’s a bit older and told me that considering her age, she is getting to feel that it is best to be accepting of situations and be as happy as possible, in a kind of reverent stoic monastic way. It was kind of odd to hear this coming from someone who appears to be very social and happy, but we don’t always know what others think of their situations, until they tell us.  She said God gave her this lonely fate and must want her to be this way so that she moves closer to Him, when He is her company and comfort.

My view? I am all for faith, and being close to God. Without prayer and hope and answers in my dismal times, I honestly don’t know where I’d be today, or If I’d be today.

However, I also believe that we were given talents, made in “His image and likeness” yet each of us unique and valuable, “a piece of the continent, a part of the main.”  I am meant to use my gifts and talents, and you, too, in your own special way.

I was made loving. I was made nurturing. Those are qualities that are meant to be shared. So, I won’t relinquish any hopes of Love or a truly loving relationship with a man I’ve yet to meet, out there in the universe somewhere.  And of course, kindness too is meant to be shared with others:  friends, co-workers, neighbors, even strangers along my path (you know what I mean, if you’ve been reading here for any length of time : )

Whatever your talents and gifts, be grateful for them, put them to good and honorable use. That’s how the world becomes a better place. That’s how lives become better.

See that sun up in the sky? Imagine it smiles down upon you as it warms you. See the trees and flowers you pass every day? The clouds tumbling by? They are for you. Enjoy, each day, as you make your way through this world. Yes, this world can be harsh, but that’s why we are not meant to be alone, and why we are meant to be kind to one another…

or so is my own personal philosophy. Feel free to borrow or acquire it, anytime, especially if you need to cheer curmudgeons in your midst. Do you happen to run into such resigned souls in your holiday travels, or is it just me? I think that they secretly want me to cheer them. There is no mistletoe up as yet, no eggnog nor caroling, so I do my best!

Wishing you peace, happiness, and of course Love.

~ Lily

.

.

15 Comments on “Love and purpose…”

  1. StillValerie says:

    Beautiful Lily!

    I like your personal philosophy. Yes, we are all parts of the whole. Together we reveal the wonder and awesomeness of God that is within all of us.

    Blessings of peace, love and joy to you and all those you touch on your path in life. 🙂

  2. Sloan says:

    Absolutely! You’re attracting him to you, right now, with your hope, faith, and beautiful spirit! Can’t wait to watch as it unfolds. 🙂 Keep us posted!
    Blessings, Sloan

  3. Dear Lily…this is the most fabulous post you’ve written…the most positive, and just simply the most beautiful! Be who you are…just plant a little ‘patience’ in the garden of your mind…and remember, as the old tune goes, “The best is yet to come!”

  4. free penny press says:

    Something is in the air.. 2 of my good girl pals and a 2 cyber pals (you are one) and myself are in this dust storm of thoughts about who we are, why we are, loss, pain, loneliness…When i think i have myself figured out the rug gets snatched and I’m back at the gate again..I can not be around any negativity especially during the holidays..
    Love this post Lily.. you make me think even more..

  5. lily says:

    Thank you, Lynne. Maybe when that dust settles, we’ll see more clearly. : )
    ~ Lily

  6. irfriske says:

    Keep on heading and feeling for what you so desire and deserve…
    “.”
    Cat

  7. What a lovely post… words to live by 🙂

  8. lily says:

    Thank you, Maggie. I hope all is well with you and your family.
    Be happy,
    ~ Lily

  9. Mona says:

    Ah Lily, how wise you are! It is most appropriate that I read this post at this particular moment. I spent the day in a personal silent retreat here in my own home. I started with Lectio Divina and it just naturally flowed from there. It was an incredible blessing. And now, to read your words which mirror the thoughts I’d had all day … except for the love of a man out there somewhere … I’m not at that point yet … still reeling from the last painful experience. But I’m fine. Just fine. And your words in this post inspire me. THANK YOU.

    • lily says:

      Thinking like you? That makes me think that perhaps I am on the right track : )
      Plus, my thoughts and I are always happy to have company. Thank you for taking the time to read and to write, Mona. It is always wonderful to hear from you.
      Be gentle with yourself. We both know that healing from pain is not an easy thing or a quick thing. But whether you find love or it finds you– you will have it someday. Meanwhile we will live our lives and live them happily, celebrating babies and weddings and such 🙂
      ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

