Small gifts.

.

.

Is this what it’s come to?

Happiness is

finding a perfect avocado

in the market,

contentment is

fridge and cupboards once again full,

or laundry done

and neatly folded?

Fun is the exhilaration

of a brisk walk

in sunshine,

crimson leaves dancing or

gold contrasted on dark bark?

Expectations down,

or life simplified,

appreciation found?

If I don’t want for much

disappointment abates,

if I don’t long for much

my heart patiently waits,

but as I walk fast

I beat pain I beat

a mortal enemy

and victorious in

the mirror I see

a small smile,

a gift to the world

in my simplicity.

.

.

13 Comments on “Small gifts.”

  1. Sloan says:

    A wonderful poem!

  2. free penny press says:

    Yes to all of those things and many more yet to be discovered.

    Lovely poem, Lily!!

    • lily says:

      Maggie! I am humbled by the mention, the nomination, and what you wrote. How thoughtful and giving you are! Congratulations on your own honour–well deserved! I hope your busy-ness has calmed down a bit so that you can enjoy your family and the beautiful views of your fjord. Also hope things are going better for your friends in Jersey.
      With hugs and gratitude,

      ~ Lily

  3. Beautiful photograph!!! Sometimes small gifts are the very best of all. Great poem!
    Joy

  4. Fantastic image, Lily…and a more fantastic work of words and feelings! Congrats with this one…its appeal is so universal…you MUST find a way (other than here) to get it published!

    May your weekend be joyful…because you are healing very well from the past!

  5. irfriske says:

    Excellent!
    “.”
    Cat

  6. lily says:

    Hi Cat! Been missing you, but I know your life is busy. I hope it is also happy, I hope you are well! Thank you for taking the time to stop by. It’s always nice to see your catface here!

    ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

