Trees like me… a poem of quirks.

.

.

i pick up the heart-shaped stones

in my path

and hold them tight

as reminders of

the pain of love.

most nourishment is

raw

because it suits me,

it is how i feel inside

don’t be alarmed

i am gentle

i may stop while en route

and watch the sky

its

artwork on high,

or tree bark

for some reason

i have a thing for trees

maybe because

they are alive and beautiful but

stoic

strong

a paradox

they dance in the breeze

whoosh of leaves and

patches of light

yet with ice they freeze

with cold they

wait for the next season,

like me.

.

.

16 Comments on “Trees like me… a poem of quirks.”

  1. janinevasta says:

    And they are beautiful…. like you Lily. x

  2. You capture the essence of trees in comparison to your feelings, perfect! I love your poems Lily.

    • lily says:

      Thank you, Maggie. Coming from you, with your talent and sensitivity, it means so much to me that you love my poetry.
      Peace and happiness,
      ~ Lily

  3. free penny press says:

    Trees make me feel small and limitless.. I love lying underneath one and wondering at all the things this tree has seen, the wind through it’s branches, the people who have sat where I am.. Lovely poem Lily!!

    • lily says:

      I’m with you, I love looking up into trees and wondering. All of their beauty and life really can’t be fit into a poem. We should embark upon: Tree, A Novel or Tree, A Biography
      I am a tree lover from way back in my youthful tree-climbing days.
      Thank you kindly for the compliment, Lynne.
      Hope all is going well with the NOLA relo, too!
      ~ Lily

  4. You have such a wonderful way with words. Enjoyed this.
    Joy

  5. A fascinating insight as to the beauty and glory of trees, Lily…yet another wonderful ‘healing’ work! Especially love the phrase “…and watch the sky, its artwork on high…”. That is so very true!

    • lily says:

      Thank you. I know you see the beauty and feel the healing of nature, too. It is good to have empathy, and companions.
      I hope your week continues to be beautiful and that you are happily breathing in the autumn air and colours,
      ~ Lily

  6. sandy says:

    I loved this poem, and can say, it fits me, too.

  7. lily says:

    Thank you kindly. I hope all is happy and well in your beautiful corner of the world, and that you will have some sunny skies!

    ~ Lily

  8. irfriske says:

    The sun will find you, as you awake from your slumber of healing to blossom anew!
    “.”
    Cat


Leave a Reply

