The play of an autumn evening…

.

.

Once upon an autumn evening

I walked to beat the darkness

seeming–

in breezes tousling,

streets shushed and still,

as dinnertime and bedtime

came and went and loomed–

paused

as the lingering sun

strove to outshine the moon,

playing hide and seek over rooftops

and dodging in the trees,

golden and warm in final moments–

Mother may I

remember these.

.

.

11 Comments on “The play of an autumn evening…”

  1. jazfagan says:

    How playful this is. I luuuuv it! Peace Jaz

  2. janinevasta says:

    Sprightly….Gosh I haven’t used that word in a while dear Lily. But that’s what your sweet poem brought to mind. And I love the feeling of you squeezing the last light and warmth out of summer. Beautiful as always.

    • lily says:

      That is exactly how I feel when I am out walking amidst the beauty of this world, Janine; “sprightly” is perfect. Thank you for the sweet words : )

      ~ Lily

  3. mixedupmeme says:

    There is something invigorating about autumn after the humid, muggy, sweaty, lazy days of summer.
    I am ready for it!!

    • lily says:

      You are so right about autumn being invigorating, m. Thank you for the camaraderie!

      I hope your week is happy and full of the fresh and invigorating air of Fall,

      ~ Lily

  4. Though Summer inundates us with its bright colors, I prefer those of Autumn, even as they begin to fade.

    Love the fun in this work of words, Lily…AND the glorious image!

  5. I like this poem very much, Lily, I can visualise the sun flitting between the autumn trees …


Leave a Reply

