I was not ready for Labor Day…

.

 

.

I was not ready for Labor Day,

my sassy white summer shoes

unworn,

put away.

.

The swingy dress

I hoped to wear

never made it

anywhere.

.

The daytrips planned

to be taken

with someone

now forsaken…

.

And pending winter

through the fall

is another

letdown, that is all.

.

If we can take

the withering leaves,

the dying grass,

the bare cold trees,

.

then Life’s seasons

come as they will

are merely reasons

to stay optimistic Until.

.

.

12 Comments on “I was not ready for Labor Day…”

  1. irfriske says:

    Maybe your Labor Day is just days away… oh wonderfully poetic one!
    “.”

  2. I do so agree with you, I love to see the change of seasons but would love to hang on to the warm weather. But we can always look forward to the beauty each season brings. Bless you,
    Joy.

  3. janinevasta says:

    Every season has it’s beauty. I know you know that dear Lily. The born optimistic that you are….Personally I adore Autumn 😉 Un abbraccio, Janine.

    • lily says:

      I know, you are of course right, my friend. Every season and every phase of Life has its beauty, and reasons for anticipation. (oh yes, You know that : )
      Hugs,
      ~Lily

  4. Victoria says:

    Ah….but there is Winter white and Autumn’s delight! Each season does bring it’s own beauty and I guess we do all have our favorite and look forward to it each year.

  5. I do enjoy your poetry… Welcome back Lily!

  6. An extremely fine work of words, Lily! Happy you are letting us read again! (And the image is quite a beauty, too!).

  7. lily says:

    Why thank you kindly, wise and artistic one! I am happy you like this, and hope you are basking in some fine autumnal days this week.

    ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

