Do you eat the skin of kiwi fruit?

.

.

I do.

I wash the kiwi, cut off the ends, then chop it and eat it, skin and all. In my oatmeal.

I know some of you are wrinkling your noses, either because I eat the fuzzy kiwi skin or because I would actually put kiwi in my (uncooked) oatmeal. Hey well, it’s healthy, and I like it.

What do you eat that’s a little bit off the beaten path?

Just wondering.

.

Have an interesting week! Be yourself!

~ Lily

.

.

20 Comments on “Do you eat the skin of kiwi fruit?”

  1. johnstonmr says:

    I love Scottish Oatcakes. Most people I know think they taste like cardboard, but I love ’em. Especially with a little bit of butter and jam spread across them, or dipped in a good stew or even soup. Lovely.

    Also Scotch Eggs, which for the uninitiated is a hard-boiled egg wrapped in sausage and deep-fried. Yum. TERRIBLY bad for you, but tastes wonderful. Unless you’re a vegetarian.

    • lily says:

      I do not think that I’ve ever had a Scottish Oatcake but I should try one–cardboard is bland (I am guessing) and a lot of things that I like are considered bland by others.

      I definitely have not had a Scotch Egg. How do you wrap sausage around a hard-boiled egg? How does it stay?

      ~ Lily

  2. I have NEVER eaten kiwi skin; I guess I didn’t really even know you could! lol

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

    • lily says:

      Bonnie,
      Yes, fiber and flavonoids (so I’ve read) in kiwi skin.
      I do get comments and odd looks for eating it though; I think it may be more common to do so in New Zealand.

      Hope you are having a happy week!

      ~Lily

  3. I put kiwi in my juicer – skin and all. If you like uncooked oatmeal, I have a good recipe…

    3 dl fast cooking oats
    1 dl chopped walnuts
    1 dl coconut
    1 dl raisins
    1 egg plus 3 tbs of creamy peanut butter
    Mix all ingredients – roll into balls and bake on cookie sheet for 15 min at 350 degrees.
    Healthy, healthy!
    🙂
    ps…1 dl = 1/2 cup

  4. mixedupmeme says:

    I see those little fuzzy things in the grocery store. I finger them……and then think….oh I don’t need something I don’t know what it is.

    I do eat a lot of oatmeal. Usually add dollops of low fat yogurt of many flavors and a handful of almonds.

    • lily says:

      If you let them soften, they get a little sweeter and your can easily bring them in a lunch or as a portable snack. Just wash first then cut off a bit of the top and spoon out the green fruit inside. It’s like it has it’s own built-in container. Very neat.

      But if you are home, you can eat the skin too, if you wish. There is C, fiber,potassium, flavonoids and more in the humble kiwi. : )

      I am with you with oatmeal, yogurt and almonds! I like plain yogurt, but this is such a versatile breakfast or snack, isn’t it? Fun to mix it up.

      Thanks, mixedupmeme. I hope your week is happy!

      ~ Lily

  5. free penny press says:

    I’m not really to adventurous when it comes to food but does chewing on an orange rind count.. I really love all fruits and almost every vegetable (except mushrooms although I think that’s a fungi??)

    • lily says:

      Do you chew it like gum, Lynne? Chew all the vitamins and such out of it, and then spit it out? Or do you eat it?

      Usually I hear of orange and lemon rinds grated or pureed/juiced. But chewed–sure why not? I shall try it . : )

      I know a lot of children who aren’t fond of mushrooms–I think it’s partly the texture–but sometimes they outgrow that. Kind of like with spinach.

      How’s everything with you, Lynne?

      ~ Lily

  6. Stronglikemycoffee says:

    Ahh I don’t think I could get past the texture thing! And kiwi in oatmeal…that is something I have not tried yet! But strawberryy kiwi do go well together…. I like to put yogurt on my sweet potato. 😛

    • lily says:

      I prefer berries in my oatmeal, but if I don’t have berries I go with kiwi sometimes. It does take a little getting used to : ) Strawberry-kiwi is a good combo! Or with blueberries, too, and layered with yogurt?

      I am with you, yogurt is great on sweet potatoes. I put yogurt on potatoes of all sorts. I think it’s substituting for sour cream, but I never ate sour cream. Must have gone directly to yogurt.

      Happy and healthy week, Strong/Slmc!

      ~ Lily

  7. I’m not fond of kiwis for some reason, don’t know why…but I do love avocado, sliced in half and pitted. I then place about a teaspoon of spicy barbecue sauce in the hole…YUM! An average avocado is about 500 calories, but it is such a ‘complete’ food (full of vitamins, good for the complexion, etc.) and a million times better than any MickeyD’s for lunch!

    • lily says:

      Love avocados! Sometimes I make guacamole, but I also like to eat them plain or with horseradish or Tabasco (so, similar to your BBQ sauce).
      Getting hungry… : )

      ~ Lily

  8. janinevasta says:

    Now I see where you get all that creative energy Lily! I won’t bore you with my very pedestrian breakfast but it always includes a very strong, very short coffee. No surprises there you’re thinking! Hope your week is going as you would wish. Jx

    • lily says:

      The last I heard, caffeine is supposed to be good for you and prevent cancer.
      True, I do have a lot of creative energy, but possibly because much of it was bottled for awhile. I could do with more of your patience. : )
      ~ Lily

  9. Wow, I’ve never thought to try that…I’m not sure I’m gutsy enough!

    Cheers,
    Courtney Hosny


Leave a Reply

