Chance encounters…

.

.

Chance Encounters…

.

Driving to the store with one of my children (grown and visiting), I drove slightly out of the way so that I could point out a home with a gorgeous front garden. I had walked by the house and garden the week before while on one of my jaunts, and the owner happened to be outside working in the garden. She was very friendly and stopped to chat. She pointed out some of the more unusual plantings while I admired the beautiful blooms.

We ended up talking about gardening, travels, and home renovation for quite awhile (I wasn’t keeping track of the time). She kindly offered and enthusiastically showed me her side garden and backyard. They were lush and colourful and enveloping; I felt as though I walked amidst a tropical paradise.

When I walked back down her driveway, a man was walking up it.

“Well hello!” he said. “So we meet again!”

Then he turned to his wife and explained that while he was out walking, so was I, and we had said hello and good-day as we passed one another. The three of us talked for a few minutes more before I set off on my way with visions of gardens dancing in my head.

So, on the way to the store, I was telling about this pleasant serendipitous meeting and garden tour. As I pulled into the store parking lot, I said, “There really are a lot of nice people around here.”

We walked into the store and right in front of us was– the man from the house with the garden!

I introduced him to my flabbergasted child (Yes, we had just talked about this guy! What are the chances of this?). He was happy and surprised to meet us there, talked a bit, said to please stop over.

On our way out of the store, he spotted us and stopped to wish us a good weekend and said how nice it was to see us.

Just a minor chance encounter or two. Or three…

.

Don’t forget to smile as you go about your day out there in the world. Β It is amazing how simple smiles and hellos can be such day brighteners.

And, you never know: one of these days we may smile at each other!

~ Lily

.

23 Comments on “Chance encounters…”

  1. rainey says:

    You never know…. πŸ™‚

  2. irfriske says:

    Ahh such a perfect example of your story, easily playing out before your listeners…wonderful and fun!
    Cat”.”

  3. Daithi says:

    Tis true, a chance encounter of any kind is special…but maybe they are really divine appointments. πŸ™‚

    • lily says:

      Oh I definitely believe people come into our lives for reasons. Divine intervention or divine plans weave all through my life. My chance encounters may well be choreographed, but I feel that my free will wills myself to put one foot in front of the other, and to appreciate either serendipity or wonderful gifts.
      ~ Lily

  4. janinevasta says:

    Such a sweet story Lily. Life works in mysterious ways. But I just know your beautiful self would have had something to do with it. Like attracting like or something like that? πŸ˜‰ I hope you’re having a lovely warm Sunday with some time to ponder your dream garden! x

    • lily says:

      Well I am friendly and happy, so I tend to meet people on my strolls. Yes, I am having a warm lovely day, and I do dream of gardens, how did you know? Oh, your trademark perception. You are remarkable, Janine. I hope that all of your encounters this week are sweet, or intriguing : )
      ~ Lily

  5. You never know, we may have already crossed paths…

  6. Mona says:

    Well written observations of life …. noticing and capturing those moments that many of us let slip by …. and most of us (well, that would be me) would not even take the time to stop and chat. Good for you.

    • lily says:

      You certainly seem to meet a lot of fascinating people in your travels, Mona! My travels are more local, and also very walkable. : )
      ~ Lily

  7. Ah, serendipity! Those flowers are amazingly gorgeous…do you know what they are?

    • lily says:

      No, I don’t think I have ever seen those flowers before. They too were a chance encounter. They grow low to the ground–but the colours certainly leap out.
      ~ Lily

  8. Loved this post,Lily. Smiles are contagious, don’t you think? I love the sweet feeling when I receive a smile from the heart.
    Joy

    • lily says:

      Absolutely! Laughter is the best medicine, and smiles are a soothing balm. I’m glad that you liked the pot, Joy, and thank you for saying so.

      Have a happy week, full of laughter and smiles!

      ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

