Kind sir or madam…

.

 

.

Kind sir or madam…

.

When I gaze upon the stars

I conjure impossibilities

that used to seem

within reach.

I wonder

what happened to courtesy,

gallantry, gratitude,

optimism,

integrity,

selflessness?

Am I the only one who

sees the world as

slightly amiss

and remembers fondly

days of

more mannered bliss?

Are

grace and gentleness,

elegance and

restraint

outmoded?

Or simply

trampled

in a world that techs and tweets,

hurries and is distracted by

Things

pushing,crowding

craving immediacy,

no longer patient with virtues?

Perhaps

materialism builds

Walls

in the way of

People.

.

.

14 Comments on “Kind sir or madam…”

  1. Great post ~ being kind and polite should never be anything that goes out of style.

  2. Materialism does build walls in the way of people. ‘Tis a shame indeed.

  3. It’s all so very true, dear Lily…sometimes I wonder if we are DE-volving back into some sort of strange animals.

    Love the stunning image!!!

    P.S.: You seem to ‘heal’ more with each post. Much love being sent your way!

  4. lily says:

    Thank you for the empathy, compliment, and love. I’m glad that you like the flowers; praise from the experts always feels good!
    Keep cool and beautiful this weekend!
    ~ Lily

  5. You’ve outdone yourself… Beautiful!

  6. irfriske says:

    And your words bring wonderous thoughts of realizations of things once remembered, longed for and then found in sharing with others!
    Thank you!
    “.”
    Cat

    • lily says:

      What a thoughtful comment, Cat. I am always happy to share my thoughts and memories with you!
      I hope you get to relax a bit this weekend. Stay cool!

      ~ Lily

  7. free penny press says:

    Somewhere along the way of busy lives, cell phones, internet, etc humanity has gotten hardened. What a sad & troubling reality..
    I choose to remain polite & courteous, who knows maybe we can start a trend!

  8. janinevasta says:

    One close to my heart dear Lily. and yours too I know. Good manners and gentile ways are their own reward. Well, that’s what I tell myself while I’m waiting for the tide to turn!!! 😉 Jx

    • lily says:

      I suppose such things have to be their own reward because we certainly can’t hold our breath forever. I hope you are well and happy, Janine, though apart from some things close to your heart.
      ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

