Reverie…

.

.

I have in my window

the setting sun,

the last of the day’s warmth upon me.

Light and shadows play

on linen tablecloth, tile floor,

plant leaves and enamel sink,

sun on my shoulders as I sit at the kitchen table

and think

of what I gave up,

what I gained,

where I am,

and where I’ll go,

and what I think is

I do not know.

.

.

16 Comments on “Reverie…”

  1. jazfagan says:

    Love the simplicity and beauty of this Lily!

  2. DM says:

    reminds me of a song I wrote many moons ago when I was still single and not sure where I was going…

    • lily says:

      Really? Let’s hear it! Oh well, maybe not… but did the then-as-yet-to-become Mrs. DM hear it? And then loved you forever?
      Wishful thinking. Someone may read my poetry, and need a muse.
      You. Never. Know!

      I am in a goofy mood, hope it is tolerable. Thanks ever so much for stopping by. How are those Japanese beetles doing? Have they taken their leave as yet, the scoundrels?
      ~ Lily

  3. DM says:

    as I recall, I wrote the song the year before we started going out, and yes she heard me sing it 😉 here’s some of it…”walking down the side walk…don’t know where I”m going….don’t know where I’ve been..walking down the side walk, I can’t even see, barricades are in the way….people…they pass me by” I just remember that song coming from the depths of my soul in the midst of some hard times…
    your mood is refreshing! 🙂 and those beetles…well, they are still falling into the traps @ a pretty steady clip..I was told they’ll probably be done in a week or two (let’s hope so) I’m hoping to harvest the first variety of apples in the next day or two which will get them out of harms way and into the walk in cooler. DM

    • lily says:

      I will hope for you a fine harvest. Whistle while you work, DM.
      And thank you for your posts and comments now and then, in the midst of such busy-ness. It is always wonderful to see you.

      ~ Lily

  4. free penny press says:

    We never seem to know where we are going until we have arrived.. Love the simplicity of this!

    • lily says:

      Thanks, Lynne! : )

      How is your sorting and packing going? Thinking of you in your busy-ness and wishing you a happy week!

      ~ Lily

  5. janinevasta says:

    Beauty in all the tiny details. The joy and sorrow in everyday. I can’t help thinking you end this with a wry smile. It’s so lovely sometimes when we don’t quite know where it’s all going, just that it’s going and we’re still here. I hope that was a smile I just saw. With love Lily. Jxx

    • lily says:

      Yes, I don’t know but I feel OK about that. : )

      There is something very luscious about a journey full of unexpected twists and turns, I am finding.

      And you? How are your journeys, dear Janine? Even at one journey’s end, another begins!

      ~ Lily

      • janinevasta says:

        Never a truer word Lily. I am feeling so much stronger and more centred since Italy. It usually throws me coming back, settling into a life I don’t savour. Maybe I’m learning to love the twists and turns as you say?? I hope your road opens and rises up or meanders maybe. But may it go where you want it to, even if you don’t have a map right now. O dear, you can tell it’s late here can’t you? But whatever else, I’m with you all the way my dear! x

        • lily says:

          May your dreams be sweet,
          your sleep sound
          and all the answers to your heart
          upon waking, found.

          Thank you, Janine! Happiness and happy travels,
          ~ Lily

  6. love the poem and the purple flower 🙂

    • lily says:

      Thank you, Maggie! You are beyond sweet; I so appreciate all of your comments and kindness.
      I am doing a bit of catch-up here as I have had company this week and have been much on the run, doing a bit of traveling. Please bear with me while I get my bearings. I did read that you are spending time with your precious new granddaughter. What a lovely way to recoup from your vacationing!
      Thinking of you,
      ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

