Survivors.

.

.

I miss him

because he knew me,

knew my soul and its depths,

knew my pain and my strength,

saw the outer trappings:

smiles, poise, conversation

and let me be

as I am

which was

much like he

after the war:

liberated

but never free.

.

15 Comments on “Survivors.”

  1. Hi Lily, it’s late and I’m at the office on a writing binge, but I noticed you in my in-box and wanted to take a moment to say hello and wish you and yours all the best. When this book is over I want us to write long philosophical treatises and solve all the world’s problems like we use to. 🙂

    Be encouraged!

  2. lily says:

    Well thank you, Stephen. I hope that your book is coming along well.
    I wish that we could solve all of the world’s problems; it’s a nice thought, anyway.
    Happy weekend to you and Susie (and Jake and Annie).
    ~ Lily

  3. You words touch me and I am sorry for your loss. I have lost also. Love will change the world and hearts like yours. Hugs, Barbara

  4. lily says:

    Peace and Love to you, Barbara. And thank you.
    Hugs too,
    ~ Lily

  5. janinevasta says:

    Dearest Lily! Such a delicate touch. I love this one too….. You know, I get the feeling that for each one of us there’s one person who really truly knows us. And we don’t have to do anything but be. xx

    • lily says:

      Thank you Janine. I wish we could all truly know each other. One person is enough while he lives and then there is such a void, but better to have known this sort of embrace than never to have had it at all, truly. I hope all is well in your corner of the world, my friend!
      ~ Lily

  6. free penny press says:

    Le sigh..

  7. I have been there…in that place about which you’ve written. Every once in awhile, I click to open that folder hidden in the back of the brain, and wonder what could have been…and then I click Close, and get on with things….

  8. lily says:

    You are good at coping, then. I’m sorry that you have such a folder, though likely you are more compassionate and stronger for its contents.
    Peace and joy, ~ Lily

  9. irfriske says:

    I feel the sense of loss… but am so more aware of you having found him still inside, calling you forward to live more alive and abundantly like you so lovingly deserve too!
    “.”
    Cat

  10. valety94 says:

    Beautiful. Keep going, girl, your work matters!

    http://personalbyv.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

