Waking

.

.

I wanted to go to the wake.

It was the only way

to ensure that he was actually dead.

I explained, pleaded,

but did not cry.

Nevertheless

they said I was too young,

waking wasn’t allowed.

So I looked for him

in my dreams,

in the stores,

on the streets

where he must be

silently watching me.

Any face that passed,

any that walked behind,

any

any

any where

would a father be?

And when

would he look for me?

.

12 Comments on “Waking”

  1. Your words pull at my soul. I really liked your photo also. Very nice and thanks for sharing.

  2. janinevasta says:

    Stoic and so wise even as a mere child, dear Lily. Un abbraccio tesoro. x

    • lily says:

      I think I grew up at age ten, life being as it was : )
      I treasure your friendship as well as my travels with your gorgeous photos.
      ~ Lily

  3. Such a very loving work of words, Lily…touching on sadness and youthful hope.

    Love that red sunflower playing hide ‘n’ seek behind the daylilies!

    • lily says:

      You are always so understanding. That means more than you can know. Thank you so much for that.
      The photo just seemed to fit, somehow : )
      ~ Lily

  4. albert21199 says:

    The photo is awesome and your words are touching and inspiring.

  5. I used to question the reason for a wake, but now I clearly understand it is for closure. If my children lose someone close to them I will take them to the wake so they can full embrace the loss. This was beautiful as usual Lily. All of your poetry is beautiful. Thank you ❤

    • lily says:

      There are a lot of things that I don’t like about wakes, but I think you are right about closure. I still–still!–imagine my father living another life somewhere, though this defies all logic and reason, and I know it!

      Thank you for your kind words; your tender heart always touches mine.
      I hope your weekend is joyful,

      ~ Lily

  6. Even children need some sort of closure after loosing a loved one…


Leave a Reply

