Young love poem…

.

.

One long languid arm,

pale luminous white

reaching

to caress a face

with eyes of blue,

fire you feel it too

You

occupy a corner

of my mind mostly black and white

cinder-block walls, brick buildings, rain

on sidewalks slick and air

clean that clean

rain-washed scent

from heaven

I am sure.

Otherwise how

could we both have been

on that star at the same time

as the moon rose over the city

and dimmed the park just after you

opened the bottle of wine

the evening

you saw me

standing there

where

you were intending to be,

heading out of the city

until you found

me

on my way to school.

.

4 Comments on “Young love poem…”

  1. janinevasta says:

    I love this Lily. So much! I live and relive memories like a movie in my mind and this poem feels just like that… Not everyone is as lucky to have such incandescent memories as these. I’m happy you do. 🙂

    PS. I loved the last line as it was.

  2. lily says:

    I do love my memories and I’m glad that you have similar, Janine. Re-playing the good times of our lives can be such a source of smiles and comfort.
    See if the last line is as it was. : )

    ~ Lily

  3. Bumba says:

    A very good poem. Thanks

  4. I love finding your poems in my inbox… thanks!


Leave a Reply

