Broken Mirrors.

.

.

Growing up

seemed so normal,

it was all we had.

Now

my sisters feel our childhood

as droplets of cold rain

as pricks of sharp pins

as falling with the wind

knocked out of them,

no breath to catch

no

sunshine when looking up.

How is it my time was so different?

I am immune to the pain

by now,

they say.

Well then thank you

to immunity

for taking me away.

I am happy

for the light and possibility

in each day.

.

.

23 Comments on “Broken Mirrors.”

  1. I have brothers who feel that way, while I am more like you, Lily. Beautiful words, and an even more beautiful image!

    • lily says:

      I don’t think that I realized or paid attention to my own nature until I was grown and people held up mirrors for me. Resilient and hopeful are good ways to be, as you are.
      ~ Lily

  2. jazfagan says:

    Reblogged this on jazfagan and commented:
    Beautiful thoughts from Miss Lilly!!!!

  3. Powerful words full of your truth. This rings very authentic.

    • lily says:

      And many smiles to keep you company on your travels, Maggie!
      Thank you for taking the time to read here in the midst of your
      busy and exciting life. Bon voyage, my friend!
      ~ Lily

  4. grosenberg says:

    Wow, beautiful, thank you

  5. irfriske says:

    I feel each of us face each day from a different view, frame of mind, mood, height, perspective and where we are at in a given moment. I am so glad to hear your moods of childhood were to pick the road of possibilities. It so shows in all that you write and the wonderful pictures you share!
    “.”
    Cat

  6. It’s amazing how much power is in our perspective.

  7. mindsurfer1 says:

    My childhood was so wonderful it almost embarrasses me! I wish everyones’ were. I met my totem animal (coyote) when I was about four or five. He was about as tall as me and they aren’t huge animals so I had to be around that age. Maybe he protected me? Love, light and peace to all. Be the world you wish for.
    Steven Narbonne

    • lily says:

      Steven, I totally agree with you in being the world we wish for.
      And, I am happy that you had such a wonderful childhood. I loved mine, too,
      though it wasn’t perfect. I think it was good for me at a young age to see the
      beauty in things and people, despite the imperfections. We are human, after
      all, or before all!
      Have a joyful weekend,
      ~ Lily

      • mindsurfer1 says:

        lily, sorry it took this long to reply. I am a technophobe and just discovered your mail while looking for another feature that I haven’t found and forgot what it was anyway! lol
        LLP,
        Steven

  8. janinevasta says:

    You are you, dear Lily. That’s the difference. xx


Leave a Reply

