Summer Thoughts.

.

.

I wear the heat

like a blanket

wet

and heavy

as the air.

I am one

with

the weight of the world

there.

.

Planes are claustrophobic.

We ignore

discomforts

to get where we are going.

.

I would not choose this path

of solitude

but for the noise

inside my head

saying

go on,

fool,

you might somehow

rescue yourself.

.

The night buzzes

only in summer,

insects,

electric

heat,

pending

dawn.

.

.

6 Comments on “Summer Thoughts.”

  1. That is just the most beautiful lily! Truly a feast for the heart and eyes. We are truly blessed by the beauty of the flowers and the shade of big trees in summer. Be blessed, my friend.
    Joy

  2. A very fine poem, echoing my own sentiments. How do you do that?

    Love the lily image…it’s fragility and short-lived existence add so much!

  3. janinevasta says:

    The heat just radiates off the page Lily. You are a master my friend. The hot sun just a few days ago in Perugia, then Rome on the last day still contrasts with the heavy grey skies back here. Impossible, inescapable heat. But we were all in it together. Here I feel so ‘alone’ again.

  4. Very nice Lily and yes planes are claustrophobic!
    The heat, travel and sounds in the night… It could only be summer.

  5. mskatykins says:

    I love this, great word choice. I can just picture it. Wonderful. 🙂


Leave a Reply

