Weaving.

.

The spider web on the old wooden railing

is a loosely woven thing,

a few bumpy white strands,

around several times

only.

There are a handful of spokes,

nothing fancy,

all elaboration left

to other more detail-oriented arachnids.

This spider was working fast

or young and unskilled

perhaps.

Yet,

in the wind

blowing strong and cool upon me,

the web holds together

and I can see from those that are in

that it catches flies.

Though less detailed

then I have come to expect,

form simply follows function.

I feel reassured,

my life so

loosely woven itself,

yet it holds.

It holds.

I hold onto weathered wood,

searching for that spider.

.

12 Comments on “Weaving.”

  1. So lovely, Lily…and I am so happy to see a new post! As you were concerned for me, I have been for you…your words are stronger than ever!

  2. irfriske says:

    Excellent, sounds like you have found footing… slow simple steps… forward!
    “.”
    Glad to have a post from you to read!

  3. David says:

    so practically elegant…I hold onto weathered wood….wow

    • lily says:

      Elegant! Why thank you, sir.
      I think you know what it is to hold onto the weathered bow or sides of a wooden boat;
      whether clinging or floating, in air or water, it is much the same.
      ~ Lily

  4. janinevasta says:

    Exquisite Lily. I marvel at the way my web holds too. You’re far far from alone. I have missed you my friend. xxx

    • lily says:

      Thank you dear Janine. I think of you every day in your travels, hoping Love finds you. I expect you will keep me posted. At very least you found Perugia, and all of its Beauty.
      ~ Lily

      • janinevasta says:

        Thank you Lily. I can feel your kindness you know! I think of you too. Especially when I find myself in a sacred space. I have found love and beauty and warmth in abundance here. Emotion and spontaneity too. All the things I miss and need so desperately…Like all of us do. Jxx

  5. lily says:

    Can you stay there?? ~ Lily

  6. I was so happy to come home from my vacation and see new posts from you Lily.


Leave a Reply

