Tremble.

.

.

Thank you very much to everyone who “Liked” the previous post or commented and so beautifully expressed condolences and concern. I am so sorry that I did not reply individually and also that in my absence I have not kept up with your writings. I am attempting to catch up and chose to stay in this evening in order to do so, and also because I find myself so conflicted in some ways that I thought I should take a little time to continue decompressing and to breathe. Funerals are emotional scenes and death can be a heavy thing.

Part of the muddle of my emotions is in the poem below, though many other parts await a light or disentanglement. A light? Illumination, or to be set afire and burned good-bye. Or, yes, what the heck am I smoking in the fog of my mind? Heh, it’s OK. Even I laugh at my conspicuous humanity. Humor is one of the best survival techniques, I find. Pity I don’t have a better sense of it : )

Happy weekend to all!

~ Lily

.

.

Tremble.

.

Death shakes a fist at me

on its way to immortality.

Temporal, temporary,

painful but illusory,

or so I choose to believe.

Knowledge escaped me

when I was twenty

and

all I believed

left me

bereft of security,

justice,

completion.

Enough deaths

for one so young,

So now I find

I have just begun

to live

in spite of death

or beyond it.

.

17 Comments on “Tremble.”

  1. thesubterraneanworld says:

    This is beautifully written,
    Blessings,
    -Naima.

  2. David says:

    lovely lilly…just lovely

  3. free penny press says:

    Warm and safe thoughts to you across the miles..
    Lynne

  4. jazfagan says:

    That’s really beautiful Lily, and so well written….Peace Jaz

  5. lily says:

    Thank you, Jaz.
    Have a wonderful weekend, and I hope you dance. Maybe a slow dance, at home : )
    ~ Lily

  6. It’s amazing how your emotions pour out into the most beautiful poems Lily.
    Take all the time you need…

    • lily says:

      Thank you, Maggie. Thank goodness that I have a place to put my poor emotions. You are right that they want to pour out. The vessel they were put in is so imperfect : )
      Thinking of you and your daughter and her baby…
      Have a wonderful weekend!
      ~ Lily

  7. janinevasta says:

    Keep the faith Lily. Whatever it takes. Ti sto vicino. Jxx

  8. lily says:

    Thank you : ) But you! In Italy! OH! Soooo happy for you and wishing you the most splendid of splendid times, and the beginnings of a splendid future.
    ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

