Water, at last.

.

.

I went to visit her

in her small house

and smaller room,

dim.

.

As I walked through,

her nurse in pink

prattled on

but I could not hear;

my thoughts were already

with her.

.

She smiled

as she always did

as I walked in the door.

I might not do so

anymore.

.

Her tongue was

green.

Yes,

I am sure of it.

Maybe the medication,

maybe the disease.

Moss already starting to grow.

.

What can I get?

What can I do?

Can I get a glass of water

for you?

.

Yes.

.

I do.

.

She sips,

slow,

savoring

as if

as if it is luscious

and precious.

She smiles.

.

I return the glass

to the kitchen.

.

The tap water isn’t very cold

the nurse says as she walks in.

Why don’t you put some ice in it,

or maybe you want some soda?

.

No, no thank you,

it was for her,

not for me.

She drank quite a bit,

as you can see.

.

What?

Pink turning red.

She can’t drink…

she should not, she

can not,

only intravenous

now.

.

But she did.

And she was happy

to the end.

.

.

20 Comments on “Water, at last.”

  1. pacwp says:

    Oh such heart aching beauty!!!!

  2. You have an amazing gift Lily, even your poems on sickness and death are beautiful…

  3. Mona says:

    Strong imagery

  4. kyllingsara says:

    Beautiful an so sad. Makes me want to cry.

    • lily says:

      Well I certainly would not want to add more things to cry about, but beautiful…we can do with more of that. : )
      Wishing you happiness,
      ~ Lily

  5. janinevasta says:

    Contained, poised and all the more powerful for it. You leave me without words quite a lot Lily. Especially today. Thank you for sharing your beauty with us! Janine x

  6. David says:

    !!! This is so amazing…hung on every word…

  7. This brought back many memories…of my mother in hospice over thirty years ago. As sad a time as it was for me, she was ultimately ‘liberated’ from the pain and suffering too. Thank you for this, Lily!

  8. irfriske says:

    I have been there, the caring comes first, you have done yourself proud, take a bow for putting it so very well! “.”

  9. smommy says:

    You are amazing….and beautiful. Thank you for your words.

  10. Kadeen says:

    This made me think of one of the last moments with my granny. You drew me in, painted a picture I couldn’t resist, and made me feel what you felt. The work of a true writer and artist. Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

