Little flowers.

.

I remember being loved,

my earliest memory

in gossamer pink dress

gentle layers with rosebuds

delicate flocking and intricate embroidery,

my mother smiling

in the doorway

holding a dishtowel

while my father on the couch

held me

overhead like an airplane

wishing me to fly.

.

How the years fly by.

Where have I flown?

So far from home

yet in my mind I

hold close that someone held me

worthy of beautiful dresses and beautiful

dreams.

Like Alice, all is not what it seems

yet

I walk and see the forget-me-nots

blooming

blue,

but bright.

.

.

21 Comments on “Little flowers.”

  1. jeglatter says:

    Beautiful!:). Reading this first thing this morning is perfect start to the day.-Jennifer

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you, Jennifer. It is so nice to see you.
      I myself have to catch up on beautiful poetry; of course I will soon be stopping at your place…
      Happy day,
      ~ Lily

  2. pacwp says:

    Beautiful reflect on how it feels to be loved as a child, so glad you came by my site, it gave me the opportunity to visit yours and read this wonderful post

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you kindly for your comment, and for visiting. Yes, if only we could always hold close how it feels to be loved as a child.
      I saw your kind comment on someone else’s post…
      Have a lovely day!
      ~ Lily

  3. So this is what an ’empty honey pot’ looks like? Wonderful words and a beauty of a shot…you’ve made my day, Lily!

  4. lily2u1 says:

    Oh, well yes, maybe this can be in honour of your birthday, serendipitously so!
    Happy, happy birthday!
    (or, to go with that honey pot: “HIPY PAPY BTHUTHDTH THUTHDA BTHUTHDY.”or “A Very Happy Birthday with love …”)
    ~ Lily

  5. My daughter is waiting for a baby girl, who is due May 23 🙂
    I’ve been so busy lately I haven’t had much time to think about it, but while reading this poem I could feel myself starting to get excited!

    • lily2u1 says:

      Aw, a new baby. That is sweet and exciting! It is no wonder you haven’t had much time to reflect, with your travels and book tour. I ordered your book, by the way. Can’t wait to get it and to read it!
      I hope you have recuperated from your busy times; you made need the energy for helping with beautiful grandchildren!
      ~ Lily

  6. pinkagendist says:

    It must be wonderful to see the world through your eyes, Lily. A life in verse.

    • lily2u1 says:

      Just put rose-coloured lenses in your shades, p.a. : )
      Seriously, thank you. I do tend to run towards beauty and… lament the rest. Ah life. Can’t live with it, can’t live with out it!
      I hope your Project is going well. ~ Lily

  7. jazfagan says:

    As always, beautiful Lily….peace Jaz

  8. terry1954 says:

    that was so precious!

  9. lily2u1 says:

    Thank you kindly, Terry.
    “Precious”–such a perfect word that you chose for a little-girl world!
    Hope your week is happy!
    ~ Lily

  10. free penny press says:

    Lovely recollections of yesteryear and so beautifully penned.
    Lynne

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you, Lynne. I am looking forward to tomorrow’s (Sunday’s) poetry. Last week’s was sooo wonderful.
      I hope your weekend is happy!
      ~ Lily

  11. janinevasta says:

    I have been going about my day with this piece to keep me company today Lily. I really couldn’t respond straight away because it moved me so much and feels so close to part of my own childhood. A childhood some days I don’t feel I have shaken off at all. Maybe that’s a good thing. Life certainly doesn’t get much better than those carefree days, lost in the love of family. And that beautiful feeling that someone will always be there to catch you if/when you fall.
    Another beautiful piece, my dear. How do you do it? 😉
    Jxx

  12. lily2u1 says:

    Aw, Janine. Hope it didn’t make you sad. You know how reflective I am… but happy, still! I know, there will always be that little girl inside. But that is good in some ways, too, to be able to see things as fresh and beautiful, as you do. I think that whenever I see your beautiful shots of Italy.
    Happy weekend,
    ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

