The moon, and then the sun…

.

Goodnight Moon,

I say to the sky.

I used to

read that to my children,

Look into their eyes,

their beautiful faces, their

days so full,

mine so full,

of them.

I ache a useless ache,

send it on its way:

any parent will know this

Longing

but wouldn’t

have it any other way.

.

As much as I am content that I was the best parent that I could have been and that my children are successful and happy out in the world, I went to bed last night feeling a bit sad and very reflective. I miss my kiddos.  But, morning comes, and it is always a new day, a new start. I worked out–stretched, cardio, isometrics. That always helps me to feel better. I should be a runner again, for the endorphins, but women in my family tend to have knee and hip issues when they are older. Walking is gentler than running on my aging joints. Plus, you know how I like to stop and smell the roses along the way!

Upon waking, I had the thought of how grateful I am to be healthy, and beyond that, to have been given a long, lean, and graceful body. I’ve never really appreciated it in my life, never felt beautiful beyond the normal beauty that we all have as precious human beings. My husband thought I was “scrawny” not beautiful. As much as our bodies are the containers for our more important hearts and souls, and our inner beauty is what truly shines, we all have beautiful aspects of our outer selves, too. Eyes, smiles. Gleaming hair or luminous skin. Our inner beauty manifests itself in these outer gifts. It comes through in the ways in which we carry ourselves–with poise or confidence, or full of good-humored laughter, for instance. Our kindness shows in our soft glances and reassuring smiles. We are a whole package of beauty, after all.

Divorce awakened me to many things. I needed music, I needed motion, I needed to take care of myself–all of myself. My little breakfasts of grains-berries-nuts-yogurt feel like clean fuel for a vehicle I care about. The books I brought yesterday from the library will feed my mind. You–my fellow writers and observers of the world– give me food for thought, and laughter and beauty every day.

The day is grey outside, but not here in my heart. It is raining today, but water cleanses and sometimes rainbows come, and always flowers and new life.

Wishing you all a wonderful day!

~ Lily

.

20 Comments on “The moon, and then the sun…”

  1. irfriske says:

    Beautiful, thoughtful, inspiring, delightful and so very wonderful to read, understand and appreciate. So Thank you from the very depth of my heart and soul! 🙂

  2. Lily, you really are a gifted writer. You truly allow people to feel with you, and feel for themselves. You should write a book! You also have such a wonderful spirituality that seeps through your words, one that makes us feel connected to you, to ourselves, and to that which is beyond us. Blessings on your day, Erin

    • lily2u1 says:

      Sometimes “Thank you” seems so inadequate. I am truly grateful for your kind words, Erin.
      When I was young, I won awards and scholarships for writing. I’m just trying to find my voice and my way again. I don’t know how long that will take, but the wonderful people whom I meet along the way certainly make the journey worthwhile.
      Blessings to you, too, and a happy weekend~ Lily

  3. robincoyle says:

    I too miss reading good night stories to my girls. They are all grown up and out of the house, but I can’t part with the children’s books we used to read together.

  4. lily2u1 says:

    I know. I miss those cozy times. I miss all of the beautifully illustrated books we would find, and books read chapter by chapter at bedtime, enthralled and enraptured. sigh. ~ Lily

  5. Mona says:

    Your post is a blessing. I can identify with so much of it.

  6. I want to be as beautiful on the inside as you are Lily. Thank you for the post this morning ❤

    • lily2u1 says:

      Aw, what a sweet thing to say. I’m still working on myself, inside and out… getting there! Well, somewhere. Not sure where : )
      Thank you for the <3's! Have a lovely weekend, ~ Lily

  7. free penny press says:

    My last child (the man-child) is leaving the nest very soon and I am already dreading the silence..
    I love being a Mommy, love, love, love it..
    your post made me think of all those years of joy I get to take to my future with me.
    Have a wonderful, sun-filled Sunday Lily!!!

  8. lily2u1 says:

    How lucky your kiddos are, to have you for a mom! Well, cherish the time you have with your youngest around, I’m sure you do. Time flies…
    You have a wonderful and sunny Sunday too, Lynne!
    ~ Lily

  9. Beautiful as ever Lily.
    Oh yeah, I’ve nominated you for an ABC award. Congratulations!

  10. rainey says:

    Oh, Lily, what a gifted creature you are!

  11. Lily, how true about the passing sorrow of parenthood – my two boys are fine, tall, intelligent, goodlooking etc.but oh how I wish ….I liked this very very much! Tom

  12. kloipy says:

    Lily, I just wanted to tell you that i really enjoy your blog

  13. lily2u1 says:

    Thank you, kloipy. What a kind thing to say. Thank you for taking the time to do so. Likewise, I very much enjoy perusing over at your place!
    I hope that you are enjoying the weekend with that beautiful little daughter of yours.
    Happy writing,
    ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

