It is so chilly in here…

.

Chill, why don’t you chill,

he says,

We are not so young

anymore,

Just relax and let me be,

says he:

I want TV

with dinner,

home or restaurant,

And I will call you after shows

and after games,

and if I have television in every room

that is my whim;

just chill.

Well, say I ,

finally,

I don’t feel I must chill about things

that are important to me.

I don’t eat with a TV,

I eat with you.

I don’t sleep with a TV either,

just so you know.

You could just as easily

accommodate me.

Why am I the one who must adapt to you,

Why is that

considered “chill”

from your perspective?

Your perspective

means good-bye,

to me, I think,

as the Spring thaw comes

And I tire of chilling.

.

20 Comments on “It is so chilly in here…”

  1. David says:

    This is so poignant and sadly…many relationships are not fair….

  2. janinevasta says:

    I think you know what I’m going to say Lily… The lady has spoken. Brava.

    Jxx

  3. Great poem! A second “Brava!” from here in Chicago!

    • lily2u1 says:

      I am always glad to hear when you like a poem! When I can please that Chicago contingent…(just joshing!).
      I hope all is well with you!
      ~ Lily

      • Giggling here! I’ve only lived here a bit over 13 years; I’m originally from Milwaukee, and began working down here in 1979, on “The Blues Brothers” film as Stand-by Signwriter. It took 20 long years to move here, and I accomplished some pretty great things until I became disabled. Of course, I still photograph, and I wish I could paint everyday…but it’s hard on the back and shoulders (osteoarthritis). So I paint when I feel able, and things do get finished…eventually!

        BTW, you might take to heart another little mantra: “Little by little, bit by bit”.

        • lily2u1 says:

          Made me think of the Robert Plant song, “Little by Little,” for some reason (“I can breathe again”) though it is not one of my favorites of his.
          Yes, painting is tough on the body. I end up with canvases on the floor oftentimes, and my legs ache from being in a squat position, which is preferable to killing my knees. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be with osteoarthritis. I hope you have a good tub in which to soak, with a good book. : )
          ~ Lily

  4. terry1954 says:

    this brings memories to mind of people i have known that live and think like this

  5. free penny press says:

    This made me feel sad…
    and that means you penned a great poem.. good poetry makes us feel.
    Happy new week ahead Lily!!

    • lily2u1 says:

      And the same to you Lynne, one week closer to New Orleans! (Don’t you get that song in your head sometimes… Walkin’ to New Orleans…?)
      I once heard from a gallery owner that the way in which new shows were chosen were if the Art prompted an emotional response. Writing, music, too, I imagine.
      ~ Lily

  6. Bethany says:

    Lily, this is so transparent and I love it. My favorite line is the last, the clencher, “Your perspective means good-bye, to me, I think, as the Spring thaw comes and I tire of chilling.”

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you, Bethany. I am quite glad that you like it, and that you took the time to tell me.
      Dialogue/internal dialogue poems are often enlightening. : )
      I hope that your week is happy!
      ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

