My Dance Partner.

.

He had movie-star good looks,

And a constant smile.

All the girls had crushes on him

But he hung out with me,

Not for romance

But more for safety.

They thought we were an item,

We knew the truth:

He was not out,

With me he did not need to be,

He was not ready.

We were friends.

I enjoyed his laughter,

His vibrance, his insight and creativity,

Altogether I savored his company,

And we dressed well, and we went out

And when we danced,

The dance-floor cleared.

We danced as one,

As one in spirit we were.

And the queen bee said

How lucky I was, that he, dashing,

would be with me,

And I smiled, knowing she was right.

He was one of the best friends I ever did have.

Now wealthy, I hear, still happy,

Loved and in love,

And I miss him,

Have not seen him in years,

Only in my mind, where he dances,

And smiles,

Amidst my tears.

.

Copyright 2012.

.

15 Comments on “My Dance Partner.”

  1. janinevasta says:

    Beautiful dancer you! Those boyfriends were always the best dancers weren’t they? Beautiful work Lily!!! Come sempre!

    • lily2u1 says:

      I love to dance. My best boyfriends and friends were often excellent dancers. Sometimes when it gets difficult to walk through life, we just have to dance! ~ Lily

  2. How we miss those best friends when they are gone. but how lovely that we can make new best friends. Hugs to you, my friend.
    Joy

  3. lily2u1 says:

    True! Thank you Joy, and hugs to you, too.
    Have a happy weekend! ~ Lily

  4. What a wonderful memory poem/story!

  5. robincoyle says:

    How did you lose touch? How sad . . .

  6. terry1954 says:

    i really liked that. thanks for sharing

  7. So tiny dancer…in this land of social media and six degrees of separation…any chance of reconnecting?

    Be encouraged!

    • lily2u1 says:

      I have thought of that, but it has been sooo long, and he is soooo far away. But who knows. I may get daring in my older age!
      Happy weekend to you, Susie, and JTWD, Stephen!
      ~ Lily

  8. Just came across this post in the midst of the 250 e-mails in my inbox…beautiful as ever Lily!

    • lily2u1 says:

      !! Oh! You are back, Maggie?! CAn’t wait to read all about it!!
      (…and thank you for visiting my humble abode, here, when you are so inundated with mail. I am glad that you liked this. Thank you, Maggie!)
      ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

