Respite for My Friends.

.

.

I am painting a castle in my mind

so that you may visit and come to stay

in a serene and happy place

far, far, away.

The stone is smoothe on the castle walls,

Refreshingly cool yet holding warmth

Of sunshine, on the moors:

Romantic and intriguing,

Gothic windows, Renaissance doors.

Gleaming wood, and chandeliers dance,

Rooms vast, with elegance,

And from your window the view I paint

Shall be your soul’s delight:

Light on the trees, silver water a-shimmer,

Hills and vales and verdure.

The sound of wrens, so sweet so pure,

and the laughter of friends…

I shall give you a tour.

I shall serve you berries, garden fresh

And flowers upon flowers shall greet you:

Delicate and tender roses in bloom,

Wildflowers, lilies, lavender, verbena.

Your feather bed shall be layered in silks

And in the morning for breakfast I will meet you.

You will soak in a tub of pristine marble,

Sunlit through gossamer sheers,

Your cares shall flee, your worries too,

No maladies, no hauntings, no fears.

Your humour and compassion will be left to you,

And all your talents fine,

And we shall talk, and walk on slate sidewalks

As in Paris, in two straight lines.

We shall swim in calm pools, and run and play

And climb a tree or two,

Because we are young, our hearts still sing,

Our lives so full,

Our tales we bring

To conversation and music on the veranda,

And if you care to rock your restless soul

In the ballroom, or under the stars,

The sky like ink, the moon so full,

Favorite bands, and healthy bars.

Drink up, elixirs I make for you

Of promise, of hope, and imagination.

And when you dance, happy and free,

My castle walls as mirrors will be

So that your happiness

Will shine back upon you.

And when you leave, tired but content,

In your heart you will rejoice,

Because you will see

How special you are,

And above all, you will know

No matter what, no matter where

Life is good

Because a friend wishes it so,

And to my castle

You may always go.

.

All images and content: copyright 2012.

.

17 Comments on “Respite for My Friends.”

  1. David says:

    Beautiful photo and truly wonderful poem…i loved it, and it ended so well..

    • lily2u1 says:

      Aw, thank you for taking the time to say so, David. Endings are difficult for me… poetry so reflects life! So yes, tell me when I get them right, and when I might revise. I do very little editing, at least initially. (Sometimes after poems have been sitting for awhile, I do tear them apart!) Write on, visit often : ) ~ Lily

  2. free penny press says:

    We all need an “imaginary” place to dwell for a bit.. Wonderful poem Lily..
    Love the picture as well. Tree lined paths are so soothing.

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you, Lynne, oh ye of noble blood!
      Well I dwell in many imaginary places from time to time; thank goodness for imagination, in this world! Have a dreamy day! ~ Lily

  3. Thank you for finally copyrighting, Lily! Just so beautiful, as I have come to expect.

    Your words and photos are so very important…for the ages.

    • lily2u1 says:

      Went to a lecture on copyrighting and expert said that these days, copyright is automatic or implied on anything we write, though copyright law varies widely country to country. He could be wrong I suppose; please someone correct me if so. I just thought I’d add it to one of my favorite little flower photos. Should just post on homepage when I get a few minutes. BTW, I amended one line, for you and a couple of other friends here.
      “… for the ages…” –wow, that is… incredible, don’t even know how to respond to that, but thank you. More reading and replying later, busy day. May joy be with you on your way! ~ Lily

      • Lily: It used to be you could copyright by sending yourself a copy of whatever you had done through the mail, and that was proof enough of copyright. These days, it is simpler…and whatever (like your photos/writings and mine) can simply be copyrighted if we post them as such. Personally, I have given only one site the authority to re-blog…and he/she is in Greece (Athens), the country of my mother’s ancestors. I allowed this because I wanted the Greeks to know that one of their own is an artist and photographer with deep feelings for that country.

        Please, have a great weekend …and know that you are appreciated and loved…even though we have never met in person.

  4. jazfagan says:

    Lily you are so talented and who would have thought you could use the word verdure ina poem and make it sound so beautiful….Peace Jaz (as always lol)

    • lily2u1 says:

      You’re right, that is a weird-sounding word. Maybe I will find a more flowing one.
      Peace back at you, Jaz; my meager talents pale next to yours, but thank you. ~ Lily

  5. jazfagan says:

    BTW are you Irish??

  6. kyllingsara says:

    I think I will come and visit your castle. Only to visit, because one can’t forget the real world.

  7. lily2u1 says:

    ‘Tis only a Respite, after all, but we all need those now and then! ~ Lily

  8. irfriske says:

    i so want to come visit this wonderfully appealing, romantic comfortable dream castle you have caused me to picture in my mind. Awesomely done!
    Cat

  9. janinevasta says:

    Lily, this is so sweet and refreshing and lovely. You are a generous soul and a charming , charming host. It was a wonderful stay. Jx

  10. lily2u1 says:

    It was a pleasure, as always, to have you here. I so enjoy your company.
    Happy weekend, Janine! ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

