Fly.

.

.

Ah you,

You see me as superfluous

You

And your brave new world

Friends, work, parties,

Loves.

What is a mother,

beyond your launch?

Wings, I gave you,

And half of all you are.

Mind, soul, longings,

Beyond pain and scar,

I am always in you,

Always here for you, too

Lest you forget,

My wing-ed baby bird.

.

17 Comments on “Fly.”

  1. Beautiful…as always.

    Be encouraged!

  2. The picture and the poem are equally beautiful Lily.

  3. ericrynne says:

    Beautiful!! Well said!

  4. terry1954 says:

    that was really nice…thank u for sharing it with me

  5. Eve Redwater says:

    Delicately put and really pretty, a lovely read!

    Eve x

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by and for your thoughtful comment, Eve. I’m glad that you liked this poem, and I hope your week is happy,
      ~ Lily

  6. janinevasta says:

    Be free Lily! The hardest job in the world is also the best. You have done great work. I’m only part way through. But I almost want to start getting ready for the fly. For my sake! 😉

    • lily2u1 says:

      Well, don’t hurry it, Janine. It is wrenching enough when it comes of its own accord. : )
      Keep working on those roots and wings, and you and she shall be good…
      Fondly,
      ~ Lily

  7. I like this one very much – were you influenced by Silvia Plath by any chance?

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you, Thomas. I am glad that you like this little poem. As to Sylvia Plath, hmmm, I am influenced by her as much as by every other poet whose poetry has moved through my mind in my lifetime. It would be a compliment to capture some of her intensity and sensitivity, of course. I have not read her in awhile, shall look her up.
      Painting castles in the sunlight today, in my mind… (and thus begins a poem…)
      Happy day to you,
      ~ Lily

  8. Beautifully done…both!

    Please, Lily…don’t let the distractions carry you away. My own ‘baby bird’ passed at 26, almost 15 and a half years ago.

    You have talent, truly….

    • lily2u1 says:

      Eh, babies. Makes me so sad to think of yours. Except that you have family in high places…
      Thank you for the compliments. I’m writing, as the spirit moves me… and that is all I know, and all I can do, for now. Hugs and happiness,
      ~Lily

      • Thank you so for the words “family in high places”. They are BOTH there, and even here, still sometimes.

        Please…KEEP GOING! The journey may have its difficulties (I’ve faced many), but the rewards are the greatest!

        Much love to you from Chicago!


Leave a Reply

