Breathe: You, and the Universe. (a poem)

.

.

Your next breath,

with the swaying tree limb,

smooth and bent,

strong like the arm

cradled you as a child.

.

Breathe

as petals open,

delicate, silent, lucent,

trusting

the frost is faraway.

.

And in,

as shifts the sky

of cirrus woven,

light as your night

covering, and comfort.

.

Each breath,

with the soughing of the sea,

waves rocking back and forth,

back and forth,

as the breeze lifts

the sheet on the line

billowing, retreating

surrendering

to the lullaby

of your next breath.

.

.

28 Comments on “Breathe: You, and the Universe. (a poem)”

  1. moses11 says:

    Great nature poem

  2. I wish I could do that…

    • lily2u1 says:

      As a author, you certainly have your talents, far outshining my meager ones! But, our little differences make the world a more interesting place : ) Thank you for your compliment, Maggie. Makes me happy that you would so wish! ~ Lily

  3. bestweddingdressforyou says:

    good poem. and i like your photo as well.

  4. janinevasta says:

    This poem feels like a journey. Beautiful.

  5. David says:

    The last three lines are so lovely….Matches so well with the foto:)

  6. free penny press says:

    Nature… the healing playgrounds of our planet..
    well expressed here Lily..

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you, Lynne. Yes, I think I am a Romantic throwback!
      I did catch your post about treasures that the heart keeps (my paraphrase). I know Exactly how that feels. I wistfully think that some earlier things are meant as reminders of what is always possible…
      Wishing your heart happiness always,
      ~ Lily

  7. terry1954 says:

    if all people would just take a moment and breathe, take in god’s beauty, thank him for all of our blessings, our lives would be filled with more joy, less stress, and a calmer day would be ahead of us. thank u for sharing

  8. jazfagan says:

    I LUV this Lily!….Peace Jaz

  9. This is quite beautiful…an excellent read at the beginning of my day. Thank you, Lily!

    • lily2u1 says:

      Oh I am happy to have started your day off in a pleasant way! You are most welcome.
      “Quite beautiful” is high praise, and means a lot coming from you.
      Happy weekend in Chicago,
      ~ Lily

  10. Oh Lily, thank you for adding a touch of beauty to my day.

    By the way, did you take this photo from our backdoor? lol

    The last three lines are so pure…thank you.

    Be encouraged!

    • lily2u1 says:

      You are most welcome and thank you kindly for your compliments, always so encouraging. Pure and beautiful… what fine ideals for which to aim; I try.
      Happy weekend, Stephen,
      ~ Lily

  11. irfriske says:

    This is so perfect, so in sync, so aware…Thank you this is exactly what I needed to find in my in box!

  12. kyllingsara says:

    I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award.

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you, Sara. I want you to know that one of the amazing things to me, reading what you have written in kyllingsara, is the range of humanity (and lack thereof) in the small space of your place there. Of course the depravity is … beyond wretched, I haven’t even the words to reach its depths, nor can I even read the worst of it. But, all sorts of strangers come to cheer you on and to tell you that they care. Strangers. Nothing to gain, just good hearts. It is wonderful to know that the world is full of such kind people.
      Then, and of course most importantly and incredibly, is you. Despite everything that has happened and everything you are now dealing with, your beautiful self shines through. Your true nature is evident all through your posts, and it just goes to show that indeed, no one can take your spirit or your soul if you refuse to surrender it. You are strong, resilient, keenly intelligent with a wonderful wit and sense of humor. You are sensitive and sweet–which would be remarkable except that those are part of Who You Naturally Are, and always will be.
      I’m sorry for all of the times when I did not say the right thing or the best thing. I am surely not as awesome as you, nor as open as you. But you are such a good example so maybe I will improve!
      Hugs always ~ Lily

      • kyllingsara says:

        You just proved yourself wrong, Lily. Sorry to have to be the one to break the news to you, but you are so wrong. The words you just wrote proves to me the very opposite of your statment of not being as awesome as me. You are every bit – if not even more- awsome as me. But let’s not get into a competition of awsomeness goes, as I will say that I would be honored to stand beside you on the hill of awesomeness. We are survivors and fighters.

        Hugs,
        Sara.

  13. irfriske says:

    You so line up with your inner self!
    Cat


Leave a Reply

