Afterwards. (a poem)

.

I met him

at the bus stop.

He

is the one who taught me

that no one could take my spirit

unless I relinquished it.

He is the one who knew

that poetry could be simple:

several words in a mailbox,

“brown into blue”

and that spooning was all I needed

if that was all I could do.

He called me baby

because he loved me

though tiny spoonfuls of life

were all I could take

at the time.

.

.

Note: No vows were made in the making of this poem.

.

14 Comments on “Afterwards. (a poem)”

  1. jazfagan says:

    Lily, I love this song. I recently had an audition and had to learn the harmonies on this…It’s very cool…peace Jaz

  2. Graham Nash is one of the many Kings of Harmony.

    By the way Lily…were any vows “broken” in the making of this poem? lol

    Be encouraged!

    • lily2u1 says:

      Oh yes, great harmonies. I like a lot of CrosbyN, CStillsN, CSN&Young too. And each of them separately.

      No, no vows broken, either! ‘Twas a flashback to college. (The poem, not the Hollies. The song just kind of fit this poem.)

      Thanks for stopping in, hope your week is wonderful!

      Encouraged, ~ Lily

  3. jeglatter says:

    Simply perfect and you. I love it!
    -Jennifer

    • lily2u1 says:

      : ) Coming from someone with your heart and poet’s soul, that means a lot. Thank you, Jennifer.
      I hope you are having a splendid vacation!

      ~ Lily

  4. free penny press says:

    What you did was meet a man.. a real man..
    loverly words!!!!
    🙂

  5. irfriske says:

    Your words bring up some truly awesom memories, thank you!
    Cat

    • lily2u1 says:

      Well we have to find ways to find that same peace, comfort, and joy now, methinks! You are definitely on your way. Me… I’m lagging behind a bit, but I am getting there!
      ~ Lily

  6. janinevasta says:

    Exquisite Lily. Delicate and determined like you. Fragile but resolute. I’m rambling here but i just love this. We all deserve to know love like this at least once in our lives.

  7. lily2u1 says:

    Yes, I definitely hold this up as the closest I had to ideal love. As I said above, I hope there is a way to again have that same ease and meeting of the minds and souls. I think I was too young to fully appreciate it, but if nothing else, age brings perspective, and sometimes bits of wisdom. Yes, how fragile we are… how strong we are…
    ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

