Gotta have Gratitude…

.

Today, I am thankful

that I have children who are happy and well,

and parents who are well and happy,

that my skin is not so dry and my eyes don’t want to cry,

and I’m grateful for my weird rhyming ways.

Robins scurry to within a foot of me before they flutter away, which makes me feel both trusted, and a part of Nature.

Water. (’nuff said.)

Music, dancing. The two together, especially when there are two together. Which reminds me, I am grateful for my imagination, and that I am a hopeful and optimistic person.

I am grateful to the artisans and builders of the houses in my neighborhood. Each time I take a walk, I notice another stunning architectural detail.

Thank goodness for a sense of humour, and for the Frasier Moon-Dance episode that I watched last night (Season 3, I think) that made me laugh.

Vulnerability is the new black” (and that someone cared to tell me so).

I am thankful for the mutability of the sky, and for its beauty, its colours and its light.

Wild blueberries can be purchased frozen, so I can get them anytime.

I’m glad that my father gave me an appreciation of style, art, architecture, and all things beautiful.

I’m grateful that my grandma gave me Anne of Green Gables when I was a little girl; books have always provided such good company.

I am grateful for Youtube, weather.com, and wordpress. And search engines.

The shower is hot nearly as soon as I turn it on.

I’m glad that I can talk with almost anyone. It is one of my best attributes, and I’m grateful for it.

I’m glad that my laundry is done.

Thank goodness that I still have an old cd player that lets me put a song or a piece of music on repeat, because sometimes I have to listen to the same one over and over.

Ahhh, the scent of lemon, or lavender, or spices like cinnamon and cloves…

It is wonderful to have a library, a market, and parks, all within walking distance.

I am grateful for the sensitive souls and kind people whom I meet; you give me hope for the world and make me feel less alone.

.

What are you grateful for today?

.

23 Comments on “Gotta have Gratitude…”

  1. Morning: great post & photo…so good, I’m going to reblog….thx for sharing! RT

  2. I’m just grateful to be alive!

    • lily2u1 says:

      Me too. Oh but I forgot to put that on my list, Thomas. Thanks for adding that! I hope that your recovery from all of the surgery is going well, and happily!

      ~ Lily

  3. I’m grateful you wrote this and for all your flower pictures 🙂

  4. Dawn Shepler says:

    Grace, more than anything is what I’m grateful for. And your post, to remind me!

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you Dawn, what a kind thing to say!

      I just hopped over to your place and saw your similar post! Made me smile.
      Yesterday I was breathing in the beauty of drifts of daffodils, and I found a heart-shaped stone while walking. Yes, I am grateful for all little miracles and bits of beauty that come my way.
      Wishing you happiness,
      ~ Lily

  5. free penny press says:

    There is so much beauty in my world I am grateful to have the sight to see it..
    In my one month anniversary of blogging here, I am grateful for the many, many kind paths I have encountered..your included 🙂

  6. susannakd says:

    Well, I happened to have written about that very subject today! http://meantforsomethingbetter.com/2012/04/09/gratitude/

    • lily2u1 says:

      Susanna, it is nice to “see” you! I remember last time you visited, you seemed so sad. I hope you will be getting happier now! When you’ve done all that you can do, there are no regrets, you just move forward. You have a whole life ahead of you. Be happy!

      Everything that has been helping me is written here somewhere… if perchance it may help you, too! Hugs and best wishes, ~ Lily

      • susannakd says:

        Yes! I really have turned around…I was so low for so long, I feel like a boomerang which has whipped around!
        I don’t want to stop feeling this good.

  7. Im thankful for this blog, and just about every remark! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  8. janinevasta says:

    List making is a great thing! I discovered it recently and although my lists are not as lovely and rhythmic as yours they certainly help to remind me what I have going in my favour. It’s so easy to focus on the one or two things we haven’t got right just yet. Even use them as a shield to
    getting on with it. But no! Not good enough…I’m talking to myself now 😉

    Lily, thanks for the vulnerability link! I’m honoured you thought it was a reason to be grateful but you were the inspiration. So that kind of makes us partners I suppose!

    Grazie di cuore a te Lily.
    Jx

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you for your heart, Janine.

      I wish that I could link to all of the wonderful people here and all of the encouraging things they have said.
      I’ll have to keep working on showing gratitude!

      Sending you happiness!
      ~ Lily

  9. robincoyle says:

    That made me smile!

  10. StillValerie says:

    Lily:

    I am so grateful that I have met you through your writings of this blog. Today, while feeling a bit down and overwhelmed by my life situation, I stopped by to read more of your wonderful posts. The more I read the better I felt as I remembered all that I have to be grateful for in my life regardless of being currently unemployed. Thank you for being you anf for sharing yourself so freely and heartily with The Universe through the blogging world!

    Blessings for a happy week!

    • lily2u1 says:

      I’m so glad that you stopped by, Valerie. Thank you so much for your kind words.
      I hope that your situation will soon improve; life sure can be tough. At least the down times provide contrast in our lives, so that we appreciate the good. I hope that work soon comes your way, and that no matter what, you’ll keep your chin up and still be your kind thoughtful self.
      Wishing you happiness,
      ~ Lily

  11. irfriske says:

    I am grateful for my life, my body, learning how to use this site, my horses, my sons, my friends, and words, wonderfully put together that draw me in, allow me to feel and so reasonate with writers like you! Take a bow!
    Cat

  12. lily2u1 says:

    Thanks Cat! Makes me smile to think of all that you have to be grateful for, and that you are finding your happiness and fulfillment, as we all hope to do!
    You just carry on!
    ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

