Shelter.

Since I am no longer dating, I have more free time. I no longer have my garden (sigh, sniffle), which is where I spent a lot of my solitary Spring time and energy, so I thought I should do some more volunteering.  It is always good to feel less crumpled and more useful. You know how that is.

So, I called one of the places nearby that is always looking for volunteers, a medical facility. I called the number, gave the name to the receptionist, was disconnected twice, called back, was put on hold, talked to the receptionist again, was told there was a new volunteer coordinator, was given a new number, called it and got–nothing, just blank space. I was running late and had to get to an appointment by that time anyway, but sheesh, sometimes things fall into place more easily than at other times. I’d try again later.

On the way home I stopped at the market to get food for dinner. It always makes me feel good to go to the market. Lots of people milling about in a cheerful purposeful bustle, the colors of the fresh greens and fruits, the smell of fresh baked bread…  Ah!

I even ran into The Entrepreneur on the way, and he was very happy to see that I was wearing his bracelet. As I walked away from him, he called, “Hey!” and when I turned around he said, “God Bless You!”  Funny, I hadn’t realized in any of my previous encounters with him that he was religious in any way. Maybe I looked as though I needed more blessings this time!

On my way back from the market, there was a young woman walking towards me on the sidewalk with such purpose, looking directly at me, that I thought she must be someone I know.

She didn’t look familiar.

She looked cold, she was not dressed for the chilly weather. Bare arms, bare legs. I said hello. (Still puzzled.)

She stopped on the sidewalk in front of me. “Hi,” she said. She paused, as if thinking of what to say next.

I waited. She wanted something.

“Hi. Um, can you … can you tell me how to get to…”

(Ah, so she needed directions, and I must look like a friendly local person. Must be the shopping bag and the spring in my step!)

“Can you tell me how to get to the ___Women’s Shelter?”

Wait, what? The Women’s Shelter? I thought I knew where that was, but it wasn’t around here.

Hmm. “Do you have the address?” I asked.

“Yes, it’s …”  and she told me the address.

I was startled. I had walked right by there. It must be a satellite shelter. By the street and number she had given me and from what I knew, I could deduce even which building it might be in.

So, I directed her to the place, assured her she was nearly there. Her whole person seemed to sigh with relief. She smiled and thanked me and hurried on her way.

When I got home, before I even put the groceries away, I looked up the shelter online. Sure enough, there were satellite shelters.

I contacted the volunteer coordinator.

Funny how things work out, huh?

.

26 Comments on “Shelter.”

  1. Very nice story of how things just seem to work out ~ Thanks ~

  2. kyllingsara says:

    I was just writing something on the same topic. I was freaked out, I got angry instead – plus sunshine! Just what the doctor ordered. Wednesday cyber hugs to you from me.

    • lily2u1 says:

      Oh I look forward to reading your writing. Yes, the sunshine feels great! My doctor tells me I need more vitamin D, but I think I need the Warmth and Cheer more, as much as pausing to reflect with the rain has its value, too!
      Thank you for the hugs, and back at you–
      ~ Lily

  3. […] thing that got me thinking about heroes, were  Lily’s and rayannsom’s posts today. Right now I think they might be the closest to heroes […]

  4. jazfagan says:

    Lily, talk about serendipity huh…LOL =) Happy little accidents in life right…peace Jaz

    • lily2u1 says:

      I know! I was startled by your post title, because I had just written this! Ha, well, serendipity is a marvelous thing. I say we just go with it, appreciate it, and welcome more of it!
      Peace back at you, and joy,
      ~ Lily

  5. free penny press says:

    It’s how is was meant to happen..
    You will be very welcome at that shelter..
    🙂

  6. You are so freakin’ cool…we think you are the best. Just keep on doing it Lily.

    Be encouraged!

  7. cynthia says:

    Lily, such a pleasure to read you- wonderful writing

  8. DM says:

    You have a great heart. I know you’ll be a perfect fit @ the shelter. (That young woman sensed you were someone safe too..that says a lot to me)

    • lily2u1 says:

      Aw thanks, I am probably pretty normal heart wise, but Safe with a capital S I definitely am! Thanks, DM! Thought of you when getting my whole-grain bread from the market. Hope you and Mrs. DM are well and happy!
      ~ Lily

      • DM says:

        We are well tonight 🙂 Went outside to take a walk around the property tonight ..stumbled across a big patch of Morel mushrooms…..they are a seasonal treat. around here in the Midwest..sell for $40 a pound. We ended up finding over 100 of them in our apple orchard. I told Mrs DM I feel like I’m living in the garden of Eden sometimes…a few years ago we discovered a large patch of black raspberries growing behind one of the outbuildings. We’d only lived her probably 10 years before we knew they were there 🙂

        • lily2u1 says:

          Oh wow, what Wonderful finds! Did you take a photo of your mushroom patch? Or maybe they were too spread out. Anyway, my goodness, devise some delightful ways of partaking, savor and enjoy! ~ Lily

  9. Dolly Llama says:

    Wonderful! You must have been meant for that place. It does puzzle me why some nonprofits are so disorganized when accepting volunteers/donations. Don’t even try to give food to the Food Bank! One of these days I’m gonna leave a pallet of green beans at the door and run like a criminal!

    • lily2u1 says:

      Haha, so true. (What are you doing with a pallet of green beans? That’s what llamas eat? – jk, thank for the levity!)
      Well, I just figure it worked out fine, anyway. Thank you for visiting and writing! Hope you are having a happy week,
      ~ Lily

  10. Sounds like a sign to me…

  11. irfriske says:

    I love how you are allowing the signs you find to lead you along a path to new growth, and movement…always showing your attention to your creative, caring heart!


Leave a Reply

