The Good ‘Bye

 ~ 2 small poems, 1 photo ~

I don’t know why there is so much rhyme in my poems lately. They just skip along, rhyming on their way. I almost want to apologize for that.  Seems a strange evolution, towards youthfulness, but I do feel young, no doubt in part because of this fresh start. That is appropriate in this season of springtime and rebirth, isn’t it?

Verses just seem to pop into my head these days while I am waking or walking, cooking or reading. It is as if Someone is saying, “You think you have neither rhyme nor reason in your life? Yeah well, here you go: about time, you got Rhyme…”  I am simply accepting such lines as odd little poetic gifts in the rhyme-scheme of my life and passing them on to you.

I’m not a photographer but I certainly do appreciate this beautiful world and sometimes I stop gawking long enough to remember to take a picture.  The photo below is one of my favorites, so I pass that along to you, too.  It seems a good week for the majesty of nature, for rays of sunshine through the clouds, and for storms subsiding. By next Sunday, this sky will be clear!

.

The Good ‘Bye

I couldn’t tell you my fears                                                                                                                because they were of you.

I couldn’t tell you my dreams;                                                                                                      they were of you, too.

When you said that you love me,                                                                                                     you meant the me that you know.

If you met me on the inside                                                                                                                     it would be easier to let me go.

.

.

The Good ‘Bye  (take 2)

.

Jump

in puddles.

Step

on cracks.

We can’t move at all forward

If we only watch our backs.

.

Watch me turn,

Watch me walk away.

In your mind you can make me anything you want,

But you cannot make me stay.

.

.

.

25 Comments on “The Good ‘Bye”

  1. I love poems, so keep passing.

  2. meiro says:

    I like it, nice.

    Regards.

  3. janinevasta says:

    Bravissima Lily! I love the contrast between the almost childish verse and the strength of the sentiments they hold. Sorry – you can tell i’m no poet but I hope you get what I mean! 😉

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you, Janine. This comment makes me feel wonderful because I have consciously simplified my “relationship” poetry over the years, even if generally not quite as sing-song as these poems. The child-like quality probably is in part due to that simplification, as well as to the rhyme here.

      I used to write with more complexity and many allusions, but the poems were not easily accessible and I didn’t like that. I think it is possible to say a lot in a very spare way, especially when you hear one side of a conversation. You “know” things about these people because of what you hear and are shown, and because you sense things.

      In the first poem, for instance, you can tell quite a bit about their relationship. You can discern how much (or how little) she trusted him and confided in him, how well he knows her, and how superficial the relationship is. But like many relationships, there are contradictions or complexities: she fears him yet dreams of him, is a bit wistful.
      She feels that he might not be happy with her true self if he knew it (does she feel she isn’t good enough, or are they too different?). Although he may be happy with how things are, she clearly is not. Her word choice is significant: not only doesn’t he know her well, but he hasn’t even “met” her true self.

      There is an undercurrent of emotions that comes through because the feelings are raw and real. That is one reason why I like to write poetry and why my mind thinks in poetry sometimes: the poem is like a vessel that can contain these emotions. If the poem is too complex or wordy, the emotions can be hidden, but if the writing is tight the feelings are right there. That is probably why you are feeling the strength as you do. Or at least, these are some of my current thoughts and theories!
      ~ Lily

      • janinevasta says:

        Thanks so much Lily! I am fascinated. Simplicity is almost always a good thing but, as you say, it doesn’t mean you can’t pack a punch. I like the way there’s nowhere to hide in spare writing and every word has to earn its way. Funny. I don’t read the ambiguity you suggest. Her dreams were her dreams, not their dreams. J

        • lily2u1 says:

          Ah. It is fascinating that even in such a small stark poem, there can be plenty of room for interpretation and nuances.

          As you so perceptibly note, the dreams were “not their dreams” together. She dreamt “of (him)” but they were just her dreams– meaning they belonged to her only, and were dreams not reality. They were dreams that couldn’t come true; you’re right, no ambiguity about that, no matter how wistful she might be!

          There is the poem and then there is the reader, each bringing all that is held inside.

          ~ Lily

    • lily2u1 says:

      (Thank you for being tolerant of the long lonng reply, Janine. What was I thinking? Too much caffeine, maybe? So sorry about that : )
      Ciao,
      ~ Lily

  4. welldone for tapping into your heart, well done

  5. free penny press says:

    I admire people that can rhyme in poetry.. not easy to do..I’m a free verse writer..Maybe one day I’ll write a Rhyme-y poem..
    Much enjoyed these & happy week to you too!
    Lynne

  6. Bethany says:

    This is beautiful:) I especially loved the first “part”. Brought tears to my eyes.

  7. OMG…your words roll like cool clear water over smooth stones…they caress the emotions in my soul.

    Your voice remains pure…thank you.

    Be encouraged.

    • lily2u1 says:

      How beautiful. If my poetry can possibly evoke such feelings, then I am going in the right direction. Thank you for such lovely images and thoughts, Stephen.

      ~ Lily

  8. kyllingsara says:

    “We can’t move at all forward

    If we only watch our backs.”

    This just gave me chills. It makes me feel like crying. Your words just made something make sense to me. You said everything that needed saying, in one little sentence. Thank you.

    • lily2u1 says:

      Oh! Well, you are welcome and I am glad to be of some small help.
      You know, speaking of crying, I never used to be able to cry. For probably decades I didn’t cry, ever. Now I do at times and it does have its minor cathartic affect.
      I am rather surprised that my little poetry sometimes moves people to near tears, but it just goes to show how all that is underneath comes through in writing sometimes.
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your feelings.

      Chin up, onward, and with joy,
      ~ Lily

      P.S. Here is the link to your post about this poem, over at your place.

  9. irfriske says:

    Such small perfect verses!

  10. lily2u1 says:

    “Thank you, Cat,” she said with a small smile : )

    ~ Lily

  11. […] For now, as far as the old friendships go, I think this is one thing I’m waiting for the outcome of. This reminds me of the line from Lily’s poem: […]


Leave a Reply

