The Flight from the Library (a true story).

.

Today I walked to the library,

I hoped to find a chair,

so you might find me amidst the pages

of Love and Mystery there.

.

The librarian leapt to be of assistance

When I requested books of poetry.

Tattooed on his forearm he pointed out

Byron, E. Browning, and Shelley.

.

We talked of poets, their art, their lives

For well over half an hour,

A young man reading next to me laughed aloud,

The musician next to him did nothing but glower.

.

Dickinson has a rhythm that’s easy to read,

Frost could go on forever.

Collins is sailing around the room,

Shakespeare these sonnets we never.

.

On the way home I encountered

A  blue heron upon a yard wall,

Who only sat and stared at me,

He shouldn’t have been there at all.

.

Like a poem that can travel anywhere,

A bird in my city backyard

Alights and smiles at me on my way,

So close, and yet so far.

.

Contemplation, patience, successful hunt,

Symbol of adapting, like water.

Symbol of Wisdom, symbol of Light,

Watch the symbol

Taking flight.

.

.

17 Comments on “The Flight from the Library (a true story).”

  1. janinevasta says:

    Chance encounters are often the best….

  2. irfriske says:

    Sounds like you are finding yourself with every aware step you take! Marvelous! 🙂

  3. free penny press says:

    There are these moments in time, so unexpected, that bring us joy..lovely read!!!

  4. Such beautiful words…that come from your heart, I am certain, Lily.
    I wish you back a ‘Happy Spring’…with much love for you!

  5. What is the best compliment one person can give another?…I wish I could write like you.

    Be encouraged!

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you, I am blushing.
      But– if you wrote like me, you wouldn’t write like you. And that would be a shame.
      Besides, it wouldn’t suit you to be so emotional and… weird. : )
      ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

