Romantic Notions Aside…

.

The rain reflects my mood,

Melancholy.

Donne, Keats,

Sufferings and such,

Like a stone skipped over a pond,

Sinking, sinking.

After the skimming of the surface,

Brief bouncing for joy,

The stone finds its place.

.

What have I cast aside?

Fun, for integrity,

The physical for the cerebral,

Luxury, for simplicity,

Together for alone,

Decadence for the convent.

.

I do believe the nuns would take me.

“She has a bit of a sense of

Humor,

Even in pain,”

Says the Mother Superior.

“We could use her around here,

It’s so dreary and somber,

Though I love

The flying buttresses

Of the chapel.”

And the novices nod.

“If she can cook biscuits, can iron habits

And has strong knees,

Then, if Thy will be done,

She can join our club.”

.

A mere mortal pebble

of this world I may be,

Sinking

But always thinking.

‘Tis a gift, from the Lord.

.

9 Comments on “Romantic Notions Aside…”

  1. SugaryLollipops says:

    It always amazes me how someone’s use of a few words can show so much emotion.

  2. Don’t go to a convent. They may not let you post to the interwebs there. And that would be a great loss.

  3. Mona says:

    Strong poem with the perfect dash of wit and humor…quite inspiring. I nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger award. Check it out : http://monahoward.com/2012/03/25/very-inspiring/

    When I wrote this, I forgot to include directions: 1) Include the image of the award on your post, 2) acknowledge the person who nominated you & link back to his/her blog, 3) write a list of things about yourself [usually it’s 7], 4) nominate 7 or more bloggers.

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you, Mona, first of all for your comment (I love your kind and concise literary analysis!), and also for the nomination.

      As to the latter, I know nothing about these awards (as yet) and am a little dismayed as I have only been here and doing this for a few days. I’m sure that the other nominees are more deserving but I am honoured to be amongst them. Sincere thanks!


Leave a Reply

