On My Way to Orchid.

.

Orchids

Reminded me of corsages old and ostentatious

White candy pink, common

And bright in the warehouse home store.

I was no fan of orchids.

.

Come look at flowers with me,

He implored.

I am not so much into orchids,

said I.

.

I went to see what the growers presented,

Mostly to keep him company.

.

Ah.

One little orchid spoke to me.

I envisioned it growing beneath a tree

In an ancient forest

Dim and deep and mossy,

Soft with velvet greens.

.

Delicate,

Curved and

White with fresh green stripes,

Still closed but with the promise

Of  fragile breathless beauty

Yet to come.

.

I could identify.

.

On my way to orchid

I was overcome

By the beauty of an open mind.

.

6 Comments on “On My Way to Orchid.”

  1. irfriske says:

    Very nice, the discovery of self from being aware in each moment!

  2. Really lovely! Flowers speak so many deep truths to us! Thank you for visiting my site too and joining along! Blessings on your journey! As God holds you in the palm of His hand, God is opening your beautiful gift of sharing. Blessings, Erin, Bella Bleue

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you Erin, Bella Bleue, for reading, for sharing your beautiful thoughts and blessings.
      You can’t have too many Irish blessings, methinks.

      ~Lily

  3. Mona says:

    Excellent. You imagery and the metaphor of the orchid are rich.

    Thank you for visiting my blog.

    • lily2u1 says:

      You are welcome Mona, and thank you for your kind comment. I am so glad that you appreciated this little poem and noticed its literary components. I think in poetry, oftentimes.

      Your Ramblings are right up my alley! I look forward to visiting often.

      ~ Lily


Leave a Reply

