Loneliness 101

One thing that I have learned over the years is that it is better to be alone than it is to be lonely with someone. You know what I mean. But this is a hard thing with which to come to terms. We all want to be loved by those whom we love, and in a similar way. If we are not, there is a huge chasm of hurt, and of course loneliness.

Fortunately we are resilient. We keep on, we have hope. We may pray, we may cry, and of course we do hurt inside, but there is that little pushing voice inside that says, “keep on!” and so we do.

More stories and elaboration on this in the future, but one little thing that I did early on to ease my Together-but-Lonely feeling was to start going to movies, by myself.

I drove across town to the indie/art/foreign film theatre or caught a blockbuster movie if it seemed interesting to me. After a while, the near-anonymous darkness felt good and the movies were an escape and company. I couldn’t live there, at the movies, I couldn’t go too often as reality called at home, but now and then– a good romance, a comedy to make me laugh, or a drama that was more dramatic than my own, made me feel wonderful and more alive.

Passive entertainment, yes of course. A solution to problems, no. But for a bit of non-judgmental company and for a change of scenery: wonderful!

I’ve also learned that I myself am good company, that I can enjoy my own company and my alone time. Actually, it is me and my God, me and the universe, but never ever me alone, anyway. I like this point of view. It’s comforting and enveloping, and who doesn’t want to be comforted and enveloped? Even if part of the audience at a movie theatre, we are all part of something…

Oh and–for some reason it seems that the men I know are much less likely to go to movies alone than are the women.  Hmmm, why?  I can venture a few guesses, but guys, give it a try. If you’ve got a rainy day and need to chase your blues away, get out of the house and go to the movies.

3 Comments on “Loneliness 101”

  1. DM says:

    I’ve never thought or heard this before : “it is better to be alone than it is to be lonely with someone.” wow….wow… I do enjoy a great marriage relationship for which I am very thankful. I’ve sometimes wondered if I live longer than my wife, how hard it might be to find someone else who would be as compatible…it has been one of those unspoken thoughts/ fears in the back of my mind. I’ve also written on loneliness before on the blog..so I really appreciate what you’ve shared here. DM

    • lily2u1 says:

      Thank you so much for your thoughts, DM.
      Maybe you will need a Plan B someday, but it is always nice to hear when Plan A is working out so beautifully.
      Here’s wishing you and your wife a lifetime of happiness together!
      ~Lily

  2. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.


Leave a Reply

