Slate Sidewalks.

.

I like slate sidewalks.

Wait, hear me out,

Notice

Gradations of colours that melt in the rain,

All tones of grey, slick and sheened,

Or, on a dry day, feign desert landscapes

Rippled with clay reds to amber.

.

My boot heels cross with a hollow sound,

Sharper than on concrete,

No eyes needed to tell me where I am

When all I need to know is

I am on a slate path

To somewhere.

.

2 Comments on “Slate Sidewalks.”

  1. brigitsniece says:

    like this one very much….


Leave a Reply

