I Didn’t Know.

.

I didn’t know any better, I was so young

When you in middle school, lanky with blue so blue eyes,

Shook your head yes, yes you liked me, you bravely told my friends

While I,  I ran away,  I am ashamed to say.

.

I didn’t know better, I was so naive,

When you, in college, shot me in the street shiny with rain

With your camera, and I should have said, I am sure I meant to say,

I loved you with all of my heart, I wanted you to stay.

.

I didn’t know better, I was so wounded, at the time,

I should have appreciated your kindness, your

Attention and your love, all enveloping of my fragile self,

Me who had been kept on a shelf

for so many years,

Waiting for someone like you and longing for you, too.

I didn’t know better.

.

I know better, now.

.

Leave a Reply

